The Wiivers


Steak Tacos with Cucumber-Avocado Salsa: CEiMB #1
October 16, 2008, 7:01 am
Filed under: CEiMB - Craving Ellie in My Bellie, Entrees, Grilling, Healthy Foods, John, Zerbie

So, you may be wondering, what exactly CEiMB is…. Did Nina loose her mind and is talking jibberish you may ask yourself… The answer is no!  CEiMB – Craving Ellie in My Bellie is a new weekly bloggy even for creating healthy dishes from Ellie Krieger’s The Food You Crave cookbook.  I saw CB participate in the first week last week, and I immediatly knew I wanted to join.  So, I ordered the cookbook on Monday, and it arrived last night… just in the nick of time!

 Steak Tacos with Cucumber-Avocado Salsa
1 TB Chili powder
2 Cloves garlic, minced
1/4 t ground cinnamon
1/4 t salt
Pinch of Cayenne pepper
1 1/4 pounds of Top Sirloin steaks
12 6-inch-diameter Corn tortillas
3 cups shredded red cabbage (I cheated, and just got coleslaw mix. It’s basically all cabbage, but cheaper than head cabbage.)
1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
1 lime, cut into wedges
Cucumber Avocado Salsa (recipe follows)

In a small bowl stir together chili powder, garlic, cinnamon, salt and cayenne pepper. Rub spice mixture on both sides of steaks.

Grill or broil steaks for 5 to 6 minutes on each side for medium rare, turning once. Remove from grill and let meat sit for 10 to 15 minutes. Carve into thin slices.

Warm tortillas by placing them on the grill, for about 30 seconds, turning once. Or place 6 tortillas at a time between 2 moist paper towels and microwave for 45 seconds. Wrap in cloth napkin or place in a tortilla warmer to keep warm. Place the carved steak, warm tortillas, cabbage, cilantro, lime and Avocado Lime Salsa in serving dishes and let diners make their own tacos at the table.

 

Avocado Lime Salsa:
1 large cucumber peeled, seeded and cut into chunks (about 2 cups)
2 avocados, cut into chunks
1/2 red onion, diced (I’m not a huge fan of raw onion, so I only used probably 1/4 cup, then John added more to the portions he ate)
2 limes, juiced (about 1/4 cup)
Salt
1/4 cup chopped cilantro leaves
2 jalapeno peppers, chopped and seeded, plus more to taste (I omitted these)

Combine all the ingredients in a medium bowl and toss gently to combine.
Serve within an hour of preparing.

The tacos were wonderful!  It was a very good change from the beef fajitas we normally make when we want steak and tacos.  John loved them also!  I was unsure what he would like about the cabbage and salsa, so I told him he had to make the tacos as directed (in the recipe) at least once.  So, we did….. for all 3 tacos!  As he was eating and throughout the night he kept saying, “Wow. these are really good.  These or really really good.” I think it was a success!!

A couple of changes we talked about were adding a bunch more seasoning to the steaks, once they were cooked, you couldn’t taste many of the flavors.  That could be my fault though, I was a little shy, since I don’t like spicy food, I didn’t want them to be too hot. 

You may have noticed a few extra pieces of meat on the grill, we figured we might as well cook some other stuff to have in the fridge for lunches since we had the grill “light up” (I don’t really know what the correct terminology for that would be…. “turned on” sounds funny, since it’s a charcol grill and doesn’t have an on button….. hmmm, readers?).  So we cooked 2 pork tenderloins… my favorite!  One is cooked ina  spice rub and the other with barbeque sauce.

Make sure to check out the other CEiMB member’s delicious tacos too.

Often when we grill, John will grill some meat scaps for Zerbie.  He’ll hide them in her food dish so hopefully she’ll eat some of her dog food too.  It’s a pretty funny picture when she’s finished.

The food goes everywhere as she looks for any remaining scraps of meat.

But luckily when she does this, she comes back an hour later and eats all the food that she spills, so I don’t worry about.  One day when I have kids crawling around, I may think twice about it… but for now, whatever makes her happy. 🙂

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Good job Nina!

Also, Zerbie is so cute… HUGE, but so cute. Maybe I’ll get to meet her some day. 🙂

Comment by Julie

Your dog is so cute. Ours would never leave a drop of dog food anywhere! Glad you joined and look forward to reading your adventures with Ellie.

Comment by whats4supper

Those tacos look so gooooood. Glad you and J liked them! I am a bad Ellie-ista and haven’t made mine yet but I can’t wait for dinner tonight after your review!
/Clara

Comment by CB

I wish my book would have arrived so fast! But no such luck… So I googled…. 🙂
I liked them a lot!! I love your dog! My dog just eats all his food at one time….

Comment by Marthe

Don’t feel dumb!!! The ‘headers’ of my blog are in Dutch…. Silly of me to expect that everybody can read/understand that… Supposedly Dutch is one of the most difficult languages to master… 😉

Comment by Marthe

They look so good! Very tasty! I love the picture of your dog! Mine loves to do that too!

Comment by Heather B

The tacos look very yummy!

Comment by Brenda




Leave a Reply

