The Wiivers


What do you do with cake scraps?
September 3, 2008, 2:06 pm
Filed under: CAke, Candy, Cheap to Make, Dessert

If you’re like me, you hate wasting food.  Every time I level off a cake, I wonder what to do with the “hump” that comes off the top of the cake.  Sometimes John and I will eat part of it with leftover icing, but more often then not, it gets put in the trash can. Not anymore though!! 

I decided to make cake balls!  Just crumble up the cake really fine into a large bowl, stir in frosting until you get the desired consistincy.  Roll into balls and freeze them.  Then dip them in melted candy melts.  Super easy!  I sent these with John to a Coaches meeting so I decorated these in the football teams colors.  Go Pioneers!

John told me all of the coaches loooved them, so I will definetely keep them in mind the next time I have cake scraps.  John prefers eating these frozen, so that’s where we store them.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Nina – these sound great! I want to bake a cake just to try them now! 🙂

Comment by Michele

What a great idea! I’ll have to remember that the next time I go tailgating!
/Clara

Comment by CB

I love cake balls, and make them with my cake scraps….yours are pretty!!!

Comment by Kim

I love eating cake scraps more than regular cake. I eat them as I’m decorating and we save them to snack on after. I don’t DO anything to them. But for whatever reason, I like them more than cake. We freeze every cake before we decorate to loosen the crumbs and I think that must be what makes the cake scraps so moist & yummy.

I actually have a friend who gets excited any time I have a wedding cake to make, because he knows he’ll get a delivery of cake scraps to munch on. Scraps have actually been his birthday “cake” before too!

Comment by zebe912




Leave a Reply

