The Wiivers


Happy Labor Day!
September 1, 2008, 12:59 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I have been in a cake making mood lately.  Since my dad looooves cake, I decided he would be the perfect recipient for this cake.  I asked mom for a theme, but she was no help. 🙂  Sooo, I thought and thought.  Remembering Labor Day was this weekend, I decided I would make a tribute to his years in the Marine Corps! To some of you, this may not make sense, but my entire life (all 24 years of it) I thought that Memorial Day celebrated military members who had already died, and that Labor Day celebrated military members who are still alive.  Thus, in my mind, in made since to make a Marine cake for my dad since he’s still alive. 🙂  But after mentioning this idea to several friends and getting some funny looks, I decided maybe I should look up the meaning of Labor Day… much to my surprise, my idea of Labor Day was completely wrong!  To be honest, I still kinda think the “real” meaning of Labor Day is kind of lame, so I’m going to continue celebrating Labor Day the way I always have.

So, thanks to all military members!!  Here’s a cake for all the Marines, especially my dad!

The Marine Corps “emblem” is a white chocolate transfer.  Most people choose a simple design the first time, but being the dare devil I am, I decide to jump in with both feet and no life preserver.  After working on the emblem for so long, I was tired of cake, so please excuse the awful, bumpy icing.

Ooops, I gotta go.  I’m babysitting one of the coaches kids during practice today and they just showed up.  I’ll post a tutorial on how to do the transfer tomorrow.  Promise!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Absolutely beautiful cake! I can’t wait to see the tutorial on how to do a transfer – I’ve read about them but have never seen how it is done.

Comment by Chelle

You are so funny about misinterpreting Labor Day! Love the cake. Can’t wait to read the tutorial! 🙂
/Clara

Comment by CB

What a beautiful cake! I told you it would turn out lovely! 😀

Comment by Julie

Chelle: thanks! I have the tutorial up now, let me know if you want more insturctions.

CB: lol, I’m just dumb i guess, lol!

Julie: You did! I should’ve listened to you. 🙂

Comment by NinaBeth




Leave a Reply

