The Wiivers


Very Vanilla-y Cupcakes
April 24, 2008, 10:41 am
Filed under: Contest, Dessert

MB Logo

Early this month when I was reading the new Master Baker ingredient, I was pleased to see it was vanilla!  Earlier this month I bought a bunch of organic vanilla beans and they have been “burning a hole in my pocket cabinet”.  When I was grocery shopping this weekend I noticed how yummy the strawberries looked, and they were on sale, so I had to get a carton.  After much looking online, I think I have found the perfect recipes.

Coconut & Lime’s husband made her the most delicious looking cupcakes for her birthday 2 years ago.   She said they were very vanilla-y so I knew I need to try them.

In this recipe the vanilla beans had to sit in the warmed milk for an hour.  Since I didn’t want to be making these cupcakes at 8:00 p.m., I decided to start the warm milk mixture at lunch and I just put it in the fridge to futher saturate the milk with vanilla flavor.  (Here’s the milk mixture as I added the last piece of vanilla)

Vanilla Milk...almost

I looove cooking with whole vanilla beans now.  The little specks in the batter are so fun!

Vanilla Batter

I asked my jknottie friends if they knew of a good vanilla frosting recipe and all hands pointed to Alanna’s vanilla frosting.  It didn’t call for much butter so my Paula Dean side came out, and I doubled the butter. 🙂

I also cut up the fresh strawberries mentioned earlier and folded them into the frosting.  These aren’t necessarily the prettiest cupcakes, but everything they lack in looks they make up for in flavor.

Cupcakes!

I looooved these cupcakes.  The strawberry flavor really balanced well with the vanilla flavor.  My friend Katy came over to get a few and she raved about them too.  She gave them an A.  She said she thought about giving me an A+, but I needed something to strive for next time. 🙂  I also brought the remaining ones up to work and it’s 10:00 a.m and there is only 1 left, I think that means they like them!

 Recipes after the break.

Vanilla Bean Cupcakes

Ingredients:
2 cups flour
1 cup sugar
3/4 cup milk
1/2 cup butter, at room temperature
1 egg, at room temperature
1 vanilla bean, cut length-wise
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt


Directions:

 

In a small saucepan, heat the milk and vanilla bean together until the milk just boils. Remove from heat and let cool for about 1 hour. Then remove the vanilla bean. Scrape out the seeds from the vanilla bean and add them to the milk. Discard the remaining bean pod. Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 350. In a medium bowl, whisk together the salt, flour and baking powder. In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add egg and beat well. Alternately add the flour and milk mixture until well combined. Divide batter into about 20 lined or greased cupcake wells. Bake 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle of the middle cupcake comes out clean. Cool on a wire rack and then ice.

Vanilla Frosting

3 cups powdered sugar
1/4 cup butter or margarine I used 1/2 cup (1 stick) of butter
5 T whipping cream
1 tsp vanilla
vanilla bean

For frosting, beat powdered sugar and butter in a small mixing bowl. Scrape out vanilla beans and stir in into sugar mixture until they’re evenly distributed. Add whipping cream and vanilla, beat until smooth. Add remaining cream if needed to reach spreading consistency. Spread over cooled cupcakes.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i am so hungry now … i want some now!!

Comment by nikki57

Um, yummmm..

Comment by KRMWV

Mmmm… tasty vanilla-y cupcakes. gimme.

Comment by CB

Oh, I love the vanilla bean specks! That frosting looks to-die-for!

Comment by Karen

Welcome to the world of vanilla bean addicts! 🙂 Those look AMAZING!!!

Comment by Alanna

Land sakes – goodness gracious – this is what your Great Grandma Campbell would have said if she ate one of your cupcakes! One of her pet peeves was wives who did not cook for their husbands and families. You would have passed the test with flying colors — my Precious Granddaughter — love you so much and reading your blog is the highlight of my day!!!

Comment by RoRo

Great recipe. Unless you object we will post this on our web site. Thanks.
Vicki – The Organic Vanilla Bean Company

Comment by Vicki




Leave a Reply

