The Wiivers


VTV – Week 1 – Summer Squash
April 12, 2008, 5:52 pm
Filed under: Entrees, Grilling, Healthy Foods, Vindicate the Vegetable

Summer squash is one of my favorite veggies; which is why I chose it to be the first veggie of the week for Vindicate the Vegetable (make sure to check out my veggie blog if you haven’t already).

One of the advantages of being the coordinater for a blog event is you get to see all of the recipes before the roundup is published.  I’ve heard several people talk about grilling veggies in a foil packet.  Since Johnboy wanted to grill steaks tonight, I knew this was the perfect opportunity to try the veggie pack.

I used Jen’s, from Beantown Baker’s blog, for my recipe.

Here’s all the squash and zucchini cut up waiting to be grilled.

Cut up veggies

John loves grilling outside, so I am super excited that the weather has warmed up enough to allow him to grill often.  (He has grilled in the snow before, but I felt so guilty that now I only ask him to grill when it’s nice outside. 🙂 )

Johnboy grilling

The final product: New York Strip Steak, a baked potato with all the fixin’s, and foil veggie pack featuring summer squash.

Dinner

Make sure to check out the VTV blog on Monday for the roundup and I will also be announcing next week’s vegetable!

Foil veggie pack – serves 4 – by ME!
2 yellow summer squash
2 zucchini
~3 Tbsp Italian dressing (I used low fat dressing to make it a tiny bit healthier, and because that’s what I had on hand)
Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place a large piece of foil in a square pan or Pyrex dish.

Cut vegetables into cubes. Toss with dressing. Place veggies in foil packet and season with salt and pepper. Fold foil up to enclose the veggies in a packet.

Bake in oven for 30 minutes or until vegetables are tender.

The foil packet can be used with a variety of cooking methods. The foil pack can also be cooked on a grill.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Your dinner look so freaking yum. Can I come over? Me want potato with all the fixings…

Comment by CB

[…] Love Sweet Love […]

Pingback by Summer Squash Roundup! « Vindicate the Vegetable!




Leave a Reply

