The Wiivers


Final Cake Class??
April 7, 2008, 10:19 am
Filed under: Cake Class, Decorating, Dessert

So, Thursday was suppossed to be my final cake class.  I made my cake Wednesday night, iced it like a good student and I was ready to leave right after work… but then I got a phone call saying my teacher was sick, so we are re-scheduling our class for this Thursday… well shoot, now I have an extra cake with no one to eat it.  Thankfully, my grandparents just came to town that day, so I decorated it real fast and took it to them. This is a white cake with lemon curd filling and lemon meringue buttercream icing.

This cake made a toooon of batter, ever wondered how full you can get a KA mixer?

Full Mixer

This icing required using a double broiler… a tool that I do not have.  Since, we are trying to save some money (more on that later) I made one myself.

Homemade double broiler

Finally the finished cake!

Cake

Up close

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Dang! that is one full KA o batter. Adorable cake!

Comment by CB

Nina, I am glad you shared that “extra cake” with us.
Everyone liked it so much, after 24 hours, there was just one small slice left.

I am not sure who ate the most, your Pa, your Uncle Rex or your daddy! I do know they ate plenty.

Comment by Rhonda a.k.a Nina's Momma

CB: I know! I was worried it would overflow, but it kept on mixing.

Momma: I’m so glad y’all enjoyed it!

Comment by NinaBeth

beautiful cake nina!

Comment by beth

Very cute. That is one full mixer!! Lest anyone wonder why I got a 7 quart! I have a double boiler and there are still times that I go with a bowl over the pan. Sometimes they just work better.

Comment by zebe912

Very pretty cake! You’re right – that’s A LOT of batter.

xoxox Amy

Comment by familiabencomo

Your RoRo thought this cake was scrumptiousdelicious….and pretty, too.

Comment by RoRo




Leave a Reply

