The Wiivers


Sticky Buns!
March 31, 2008, 1:57 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dessert

Sticky buns are one of my all time favorite dessert.  A couple of weeks ago, I watched Bobby Flay do a Throwdown with Flour Bakery in Boston.  (Amazingly, neither Nikki or KT, my two Boston friends, have been there).  Her sticky buns looked amazing though.  Ever since then I have been craving them.  So this weekend I finally decided to make them.

Saturday night I started the recipe.  (Note to self: Make sure you start these before 7:00 p.m….. 🙂 )

I made the dough, then it had to rise.  It got so big!

Dough rising

Making the caramel sauce and adding in the chopped pecans.

Caramel

Letting the rolls do their final rise.

Final rest

Then flip the pan over to let the gooey carmel run down the sides of the sticky buns.

Ready!

Ready to be eaten… and it’s only 10:30 at night, lol.

Final Product!

This recipe was wonderful!  I wouldn’t change anything else about it.  I did double the caramel topping though, since I wanted them to be extra ooey gooey. 🙂

INGREDIENTS
1/2 cup milk
1/2 teaspoon white sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup margarine
1/8 cup warm water (110 degrees F)
1 (.25 ounce) envelope active dry yeast
1 egg
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, or as needed

2 tablespoons margarine, softened
1/4 cup white sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

2 tablespoons light corn syrup
1 1/2 tablespoons water
3 tablespoons margarine
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup pecan halves

DIRECTIONS
Pour the milk into a small saucepan, and set over medium heat. Heat just until a skin starts to form on the top, then remove from the stove, and stir in salt and 1/4 cup margarine. Allow to cool to lukewarm.

Place 1/8 cup of warm water in a small bowl. Stir in 1/2 teaspoon sugar. Sprinkle yeast over the surface, and let stand until foamy, 5 to 10 minutes.

In a large bowl, stir together the cooled milk mixture and the yeast for 2 minutes using an electric mixer on medium speed. Add egg, and mix well. Use a large wooden spoon to stir in flour 1/2 cup at a time, mixing well after each addition until the mixture forms a dough. Knead on a floured surface, adding more flour if necessary, until dough is smooth and elastic, about 8 minutes. Place in an oiled bowl, and turn once to coat the top. Cover, and let rise until doubled in size, 1 to 2 hours.

Punch down dough, and let rest on the counter while you prepare the caramel topping. In a medium bowl, mix together the corn syrup, 1 1/2 tablespoons of water, 3 tablespoons of margarine and brown sugar until smooth. Spread an even layer onto the bottom of a 9×9 inch baking dish. Place pecan halves upside down in rows over the sugar mixture. Set aside.

On a lightly floured surface, roll dough out to a 9×12 inch rectangle Spread with 2 tablespoons of margarine. Mix together 1/4 cup of sugar with the cinnamon; sprinkle over the margarine. Roll the dough up starting at the long end to form a log. Pinch the seam together to seal. Cut the roll into 1 inch rounds. Place the rounds into the prepared baking dish. Set in a warm place to rise until doubled, about 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Bake rolls for 20 to 25 minutes in the oven, until golden brown. Invert baking pan onto a cutting board or a clean cookie sheet while still warm so the caramel topping is on top.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Mmmm… sticky buns. I agree with doubling the caramel sauce. Twice the caramel could never be bad. haha.

Comment by CB

Looks wonderful! I saw this episode as well and wanted to try them too!

Comment by Michelle

I have decided that Throwdown is dangerous – after watching the pie episode this weekend, all my husband and I wanted was pie. So I made one. Then we were watching last night and the pretzel one was on, and I can’t stop thinking about pretzels now!!

Comment by Deborah

Oh wow those look AMAZING! Cinnamon rolls are my absolute favorite thing, and sticky buns come in a close second. I might have to make these now 🙂

Comment by lrfoodies

How amazing is this. I miss only one thing – a perfectly brewed cup of coffee….

Comment by Nina

CB: The more caramel, the happier the party!

Michelle: If you try them, let me know!

Deborah: It is such a dangerous show!! I have a feeling pretzels might be in my near future…

lrfoodies: You must! Let me know if you try them.

Nina: It’s nice to meet another Nina. 🙂 I think John would agree with you one the coffee comment. 😉

Comment by NinaBeth

It is so much fun going to your blog to see what my granddaughter has cooked up now. It is hard to believe all the goodies you have made as a bride…I never made sticky buns my first year of marriage. So, So proud of you!!!!

Comment by RoRo




Leave a Reply

