The Wiivers


Cupcake or Cake? You Decide.
March 12, 2008, 1:53 pm
Filed under: Dessert

Okay, so I love the Food Network.  85% of the time my t.v. is on it is on the Food Network channel.  They have recently started a new show called The Ultimate Recipe Showdown.  Here is the synopsis of the show (taken from the link above)

“In this new prime-time series hosted by Marc Summers and Guy Fieri, the Food Network searched for the Ultimate Recipe in six different categories: Chicken, Burgers, Comfort Foods, Cakes, Pasta and Cookies. After a nationwide recipe contest with thousands of entrants, the Food Network Kitchens selected nine finalists per category/episode. The finalists prepared their dish on set under the lights and pressure of a live audience. A panel of food experts sampled all of the dishes to determine whose was the best. See which winner will walk away with $25,000!”

 I’m not a huge fan of this show, but some of the recipes I enjoy.  On Sunday I was so excited to see cupcakes as one of the categories!  There were three cupcakes in the running for the best cupcake.

  1. Gingerbread Cake with Brandy Sauce and Whipped Orange Flower Cream  Hmm, notice it says cake, not cupcake…..

When I think of a cupcake I think of a picture like this:

CB's Turtle Cupcakes
This is CB’s wonderful Turtle Cuppycake.

A cupcake needs to be a small 1 serving cake (only like 3-4 bites) in a small round spherical shape with icing piled high in a swirl motion.

The third entry, the Gingerbread Cake with Brandy Sauce and Whipped Orange Flower Cream was not a cupcake at all in my opinion.  I couldn’t find the exact picture of this “cupcake” but this is close to what it looked like it just had some “whiteish” icing on top:

Not A Cupcake!

So, you decide.  Is the above picture a cupcake or a cake?  In my mind I think it is just a mini-cake.  Leave a comment and let me know.

If you want to see the real thing, the Ultimate Recipe Showdown will be on several time in the next couple of days.

March 09, 2008 9:00 PM ET/PT
March 10, 2008 12:00 AM ET/PT
March 12, 2008 9:00 PM ET/PT
March 13, 2008 12:00 AM ET/PT
March 15, 2008 3:00 PM ET/PT
March 16, 2008 5:00 PM ET/PT
March 22, 2008 9:00 PM ET/PT
March 23, 2008 12:00 AM ET/PT
March 23, 2008 7:00 PM ET/PT

16 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Agreed! That is NOT a cupcake. I wouldn’t say a cupcake has to be frosted (even though I prefer a frosted cupcake) but to me a cupcake comes in a little handy dandy “carrier” (aka cupcake liner or PNC) and it has a ridiculously sweet unhealthy flavor/texture (not like a muffin that reminds me of something somewhat healthy). Vive la cupcake!

Comment by CB

NO! I will be watching this tonight at 9:00 to see this person who tries to pass off that mini bundt cake as a cuppy. HOW DARE YOU, Food Network?!?!

Comment by amorelli76

It is a cake! I am glad to be of service!

Comment by Kyla

little cake does not = cupcake

Def not a cupcake.

Comment by slush

CB: Yea, are they going to start calling muffins cupcakes too?

Andrea: I know! I was so disappointed in Food Network, how could you do this to us!!

Kyla: Thanks for your input!

Slush: I feel so honored that you commented on *my* blog. 🙂

Comment by NinaBeth

that would be a cute little mini bundt cake … aka not a cuppy

Comment by nikki57

Mini-cake, for sure. Most def NOT a cupcake.

Comment by Alanna

I pitched a fit to my husband when we watched this the other night, yelling that she should be disqualified because it is OBVIOUSLY not a cupcake.

Comment by Michelle

um, yeah, noooooo, sorry. So NOT a cupcake

Comment by BBKiddo

It’s unanimous= not a cupcake. It’s cute & all, but as far as I’m concerned, a cup cake is cup shaped and does not have a hole in the middle. Those are almost closer to a doughnut than a cupcake, regardless of the batter used and the name of the recipe.

Comment by zebe912

No disputing it’s a mini bundt cake. The mold that it’s baked in is called a mini bundt mold! The person who entered that should be smacked with a pastry bag.

Comment by lemontartlet

I thought the exact same thing when I watched the show. Definitely just a tiny cake.

Comment by Amanda

NOT a cupcake. That is a cake…a mini cake. A cake-lette if you will..but NO not a cupcake.
Where is the pretty little paper liner? Where is the frosting?
I love Food Network, but that’s really sad!

Comment by Suzy Q-zy

It’s funny you should mention this, I was watching the show last night and was wondering why her recipe wasn’t called a cupcake when that is what the contest was on. Crazy! I’m glad she didn’t win, yuck, too dry.

Comment by Stacie

I agree. The bundt cakes were a very nice recipe, but BUNDT does not equal CUP. That was supposed to be a cupcake challenge. I bet that if she werent so nervous she wouldnt have dried it out and done better withe the recipe. However, if this was a cupcake then the molten cake from the first challenge of the show also was also a cupcake, hence should have been disqualified from the cake portion of the competition as well. I have to admit, I am strongly curious how the cake with the tomato incorporated turned out. We get filtered on our work internet so I cant look it up.. anyone have a recipe to share on that one?

I beleive that the individual or mini cakes should be in their own category though. Im honestly suprised that the tres leche cupcake won. I felt that the presentation was not nearly as exciting as that of the grand marniner cupcakes.

Comment by Jen

Looks like a mini-bunt cake in my opinion… not a cupcake.

Comment by Julie




Leave a Reply

