The Wiivers


Fortune Cookies – the RIGHT way
February 5, 2008, 9:07 am
Filed under: Cheap to Make, Dessert, Work

At my office we have a Chinese GA (Graduate Assistant), Lihua.  We thought it would be fun to celebrate the Chinese New Year.  So, me being the adventurous person I am, decided to try making fortune cookies.  I scoured the internet and finally found one at All Recipes.  I always pick the recipe with the most ratings, then I look through the comments.  The comments on this recipe we varied though.  Some people loved the recipe as is, some claimed you *had* to add butter, others claimed the recipe was bland.  Oh well, I’ll just make it myself and see what I think.  It’s a very small recipe so I wouldn’t waste too many ingredients if I didn’t like it.

I mixed up the batter.  Then, using my tiny scoop I placed 3 drops of batter onto a WELL greased cookie sheet.  Make sure you shake the cookie sheet to make the batter flatten out. I found out that it doesn’t spread that much in the oven, so make sure they are thin, before you put them in.

Unbaked Cookies

 Five minutes later, out of the oven they came.   Quickly place a fortune inside, fold over, then fold over again and there you have a fortune cookie.  As I was making these cookies (late at night, after working almost 11 hours that day, I wasn’t thinking coherently) I knew they didn’t look exactly right, but I couldn’t figure out what was wrong with it.

Moments later, John came in for a taste and starts to laugh.  “What are you doing honey?!?” he exclaimed.  Turns out I had been shaping them wrong afterall.  After a quick lesson and help from John we were on our way. 

The CORRECT way to fold Fortune Cookies: Place the fortune in the middle and fold in half (so you have a taco). Then place the fold on the side of a bowl and push down, take off the bowl, and make sure the two sides are pushed all the way down.

 The Good, the Bad, the Ugly

 The one on the left is John’s, the one on the right is one of the first ones.  Notice we got much better as the cookies went on. 🙂

Egg Carton Holder 

To help hold the fortune cookie shape while it is cooling, you can use an empty egg carton.

 We had a Secret Santa exchange at work at Christmas time and Lihua was my Secret Santa, so I wanted to do something a litle special for her.  What’s better than a GIANT fortune cookie. 🙂

John Folding

John folding it oh so carefully, it was so big it was starting to tear.

Giant Cookie

Yes, that is a normal size cutting board that it’s sitting on. 

I had planned on getting supplies to make a huge Chinese take-out box, but time ran out and I forgot to pick up the paper.  But John remembered we had leftover take-out boxes from the wedding!  So, I cut out a circle for each box, printed “Happy New Year” in Chinese (suppossedly 🙂 ) and glued it over the wedding label.

Take-out Boxes

I’ll update with party pictures this afternoon.  I always get in trouble from CB for not posting “uglies”.  So here are my “uglies”.  Still so tasty though!

Uglies

Recipe after the break

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 egg white
  • 1/8 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup white sugar

DIRECTIONS
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Butter a cookie sheet. Write fortunes on strips of paper about 4 inches long and 1/2 inch wide. Generously grease 2 cookie sheets.
  2. Mix the egg white and vanilla until foamy but not stiff. Sift the flour, salt, and sugar and blend into the egg white mixture.
  3. Place teaspoonfuls of the batter at least 4 inches apart on one of the prepared cookie sheets. Tilt the sheet to move the batter into round shapes about 3 inches in diameter. Be careful to make batter as round and even as possible. Do not make too many, because the cookie have to be really hot to form them and once they cool it is too late. Start with 2 or 3 to a sheet and see how many you can do.
  4. Bake for 5 minutes or until cookie has turned a golden color 1/2 inch wide around the outer edge of the circle. The center will remain pale. While one sheet is baking, prepare the other.
  5. Remove from oven and quickly move cookie with a wide spatula and place upside down on a wooden board. Quickly place the fortune on the cookie, close to the middle and fold the cookie in half. Place the folded edge across the rim of a measuring cup and pull the pointed edges down, one on the inside of the cup and one on the outside. Place folded cookies into the cups of a muffin tin or egg carton to hold their shape until firm.

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

omg! Freaking cutest idea ever! I should do this for Vietnamese New Year too ::wheels in head turning:: ps. The uggos are awesome! 😉

Comment by CB

Those are adorable! I haven’t made fortune cookies in YEARS

Comment by nikki57

These are awesome!! I would have never thought to make fortune cookies – what a fun idea! The kids would love these with dinner I am sure. 🙂
Maybe John could post a lesson in folding them properly – I’m sure mine would look like giant blob. LOL

Comment by mrsabybaby

I will have to try with this recipe. I remember trying to make them years ago from a kids cookbook and it was a disaster. It would be fun to make some that actually worked. Of course, then I would have to come up with some decent fortunes…

Comment by Dawn

That is so cool and they (the later ones) are so beautiful…they look great and I can’t wait to taste one! Hurry up 1:30 p.m. I ready for my fortune cookie!!!

Thanks John for coming to Nina’s rescue!

Comment by Brenda

Oh, those are SO cute, Nina!!! Great job. 🙂 I haven’t made those since I was a kid! Sorry I didn’t have time to help you come up with fortunes…I hope you got some great ones! 🙂

Comment by Alanna

I want to make these for DH on Valentines. I’m thinking naughty fortunes!

Comment by Rachel

Well, your Mother has always amazed me by all the things she does and — now, My Precious Angel is amazing me by her cooking adventures. It seems you will try anything. Keep on cooking….With Love…and yes, it seems John comes to your rescue just when needed most!!!
What did the honoree think of your project?

Comment by RoRo

Love your idea! And the boxes are a great touch!
Think I’ll try them for fun!

Comment by megan

how cool! i’d never think to make these myself!

i just joined the DB this month, just checking out everyone else’s blogs, wanted to say hello 🙂

Comment by MrsPresley




Leave a Reply

