The Wiivers


End the Madness!
January 29, 2008, 4:44 pm
Filed under: Random Thoughts

Okay, this is not a food related post.  I just have to get this off my chest. 

Racquetball

Sunday John and I were playing raquetball.  Sounds normal right?  I bent over to pick up the ball and felt something go wrong in my back.  (Yes, I’m an 85 year-old lady already. 🙂 )  So, we went home and I could barely move. John went and got me a heating pad and I layed on it all evening.  I didn’t even go to work on Monday because I could barely move.  Today, I went to work, but everyone kept insisting that I go to the doctor.  Since I could still barely move, I decided to take their advice.  I called the local Orthopedic doctors, but they couldn’t get me in until Friday.  I was in so much pain, I thought I needed to be seen sooner.  So, I went to the local Walk-In Clinic, this is where the madness begins.

Sick Face

I know dealing with sick kids is hard work as they are normally tired and cranky.  I am not a mom, so I don’t know what I would do in this situation, I just pray that I would not be like these people.

So, I get to the clinic and they inform me there is a 2-hour wait.  Shoot, I was hoping I would hit a lull and it wouldn’t be too long, oh well.  I sat down and filled out the paperwork.  A couple of minutes later I finished and turned my paperwork back in.  I glanced around the room for a magazine, something to occupy the 2 hours.  I found an interesting looking magazine that had some gorgeous Valentines cupcakes on the cover.  The cover also boasted that they could be made in 20 minutes! Woo hoo, that’s my kind of recipe.  So, I grabbed the magazine and sat down.  I was a couple of pages in the magazine when a little tot (I later learned he will be 1 year old next Friday) comes tottering over and grabbed my leg.  I looked up and gave the mom a half smile.  Okay, I’m sorry, but I don’t want a kid I don’t know and who is obviously sick hanging all over me. I don’t want the germs!  Besides, who lets their kids hang all over strangers, I don’t care how old the kid is.  Over the almost two hours I was there, this kid made the rounds hanging on most all of the people in the waiting room.   I got through the magazine and guess what I NEVER saw, the cupcake recipe.  Who tears out pages of a magazine at a doctor’s office!  Seriously…

Sick Face

Keep your kids with you!  There was a kid who tottered all around the waiting room.  The mom followed about 5-6 steps behind talking very very loudly to the kid.  Please, use your inside voice when you are talking to your kids.  There is no reason why I need to hear you talking to you kids when I am on the complete other side of the waiting room.  This same parent kept telling her child no while he was trying to eat cheerios from the ground, presumably left by another child.  So, this mother takes some snacks out of the diaper bag and rattles the bag and says “Here boy, come over here” like you would call an animal.  So, the child proceeds to go to his mother and eats his treats happily, until he drops a couple on the ground.  Does the mother take them from him? NO!  She lets him it the treats that fell on the dirty, gross carpet.  Ew!

My last annoying point of the day could have happened anywhere.  This mother had 3 of her children with her.  Their names you ask? Kayleigh, Bayleigh, and Jayleigh!  Seriously, who does that!  (I am only guessing the spellings of the kids names, but this is Oklahoma, so I’m guessing the spellings are correct.)  This mother goes back with 2 of the kids.  (The grandpa and father are waiting with the 3 child.)  The last girl has her named called, so she goes to the nurse.  The dad and grandpa both just sit there and let a child (about 2.5 feet tall, I’m really bad with ages, maybe 6, 7?) go back by herself!

Sick Face

Oh yes, in case you are wondering, I’m going to be okay.  I have a lumbar strain.

Now, back to your regularly scheduled blogging. 🙂

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Aw, poor Nina!!! I can’t stand that. One reason I don’t want kids – I have such a lack of desire to be a mom, I’d probably be a bad one. Children irritate me.

My sympathies with the back pain. I played Wii on Saturday night, and my back STILL hurts from boxing. I could hardly move yesterday!!!

Comment by Alanna

Haha I HATE parents that can’t control their kids. I mean it’s cool to let your kid do what they want, but when they start bothering other people it becomes a problem really quickly!

Comment by nikki57

ditto A and N. I don’t want my own kids so keep *your* kids (esp sick ones! hello obvious!) away from me! ps. the green pukey smilie is my favorite! haha.

Comment by CB

Oh wow! What a day! I hate going to those urgent care centers. They are always crowded, I feel like I have to shower after I leave, etc. And sick kids hanging on other people – unacceptable!!! See, and you people wonder why I don’t even like kids. LOL Okay, so maybe it’s more stupid parents that I don’t like?!
Anyway, glad you are okay Nina!!!

Comment by April

Ahhh, you make Walmart sound like a vacation! Hope your back gets better.

Comment by Kyla

I’m so sorry you are hurting, I understand – I hurt almost all the time and I’m so glad you went to the dr. (finally, lol)

Being a mom and grandma I hear what you all are saying, some moms have a hard time keeping their children under control and there are those children that are just hard to keep still and if they were waiting as long as you had, I think I would have my child walking around too but not clutching onto strangers in the waiting room, not cool. Things have really changed since I was a child and even when my daughters were small. … I have a hard time with stupid parents too.

So get better – just look out side, THE SUN IS OUT!

Comment by Brenda




Leave a Reply

