The Wiivers


Chicken!
January 25, 2008, 11:52 am
Filed under: Cheap to Make, Entrees, Healthy Foods

On whim while shopping a couple weeks ago, John and I decided to buy a whole chicken.  Chicken is so yummy and so healthy so surely it won’t be too hard, I have cooked a whole turkey before after all….  So, into our cart it went.  When we got home, we just put in the freezer to cook on another day.

 This week I was feeling semi-brave.  I’m going to cook the chicken I told myself.  Monday evening, I took the chicken out and put it in the fridge to cook on Tuesday. 

Tuesday when I got home from work, I pulled the chicken out, only to find it was still rock hard.  Who knew it took this long to thaw out, so back into the fridge it goes. 

Wednesday night I get home and pull the chicken out, yay!  It’s not frozen anymore.  But I start calculating how long it’s going to take to cook, it won’t be done until 8:30, yikes!  That’s way to late for dinner at our house.  So back into the fridge it goes. 

Thursday on my lunch break I had a revelation: crockpot chicken!  If I put it in now, it’ll be ready when I get home, sweet.  Recipe, recipe, hmm, I don’t have one.  I quickly jumped online to see what I can find.  Hmm, nothing.  Oh well, surely I can make up a recipe right?

So, I washed the chicken and pulled out the “innards” (do you know they aren’t in a nice little bag like a turkey, gross!!).  Then I put it in my crockpot.  Sprinkle both sides with some Tuscany Blen seasoning I found in my cabinet.  It’s a nice blend of sundried tomatoes and basil.  Pour a little water in the bottom.  Set the timer for 4 hours on high and off to work I went.

At 5:00 I came home.  While I was getting out of my car in the garage, I could smell the chicken, so good smelly!  (That is probably my favorite thing about a crockpot.)

Whole Chicken

 Yum!  I was very excited for dinner once I saw the chicken.  While preparing this meal, I thought this would either be really good or really bad.  I knew at this moment it was going to be really good.  So, I put the lid back on the crockpot and waited for John to get home.  This chicken was way to hot and difficult for me to cut apart.  Besides, isn’t that the boys job anyway?  😉

John with the chicken

John was a very good sport and enthusiatically helped me with the chicken.  It was so tender it just fell off the bone.  I saved all the broth in the crockpot and will freeze it for another meal.

 Chicken Dinner

I was proud of this picture, so I showed it to John last.  He’s so funny, he said “Well, one thing’s for sure, your photography skills are greatly improving.” hee hee.

We also made whole wheat pasta with some light alfredo sauce for a side dish.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It’s bee-you-tee-full!!!!! 🙂 I must try this…

Comment by Alanna

Nina,
What a great meal! I’ll have to give it a try too 🙂

Comment by Beth

Love that last pic! Photography skillz baby! and call me weird but I get a kick out of seeing anyone’s hubs helping. Too cute!

Comment by CB

That’s looks delicious!

Comment by nikki57




Leave a Reply

