The Wiivers


Who said being two-sided is a bad thing?
January 14, 2008, 1:12 pm
Filed under: Cheap to Make, Decorating, Family Projects, Shopping

Everyone knows by now that I love having placemats to match the season or holiday.  I had in my mind that I wanted some cute pink ones for Valentine’s Day.  So, I looked and looked and looked and looked some more. But no pink placemats could be found.  I even looked online, but I couldn’t find what I was looking for. 

So, I remembered the my mom has a sewing machine! Sweet, I can make me some.  So, I went to Walmart to look at their fabric selection; would they have the color pink I wanted?

When I got to the fabric section, I noticed they had several Valentine’s Day prints.  These placemats are for Valentine’s Day, so maybe some cute hearts would be pretty.  So, after a lengthy debate with myself about which fabric was the cutest, I remembered I needed to get some fabric for the backside.  Well, right next to the Valentine’s prints were St. Patrick’s Day prints!  Hmmm, would this work for the backside?  After a quick call to my mom to make sure this would work, I bought 1.5 yards of each print.

Me Sewing 

Since the St. Patrick’s Day print was divided in squares, I just estimated how many squares the placemat should be, then I cut the Valentine’s fabric the same size.  Then, pin together the two pieces of fabric (wrong sides on the outside), and sew almost completely around the rectangle with 1/2 inch seam allowance.  Make sure you leave appoximately a 2 inch gap on 1 side so you can flip the placemat.  Cut each corner to get rid of some extra fabric.  Then flip the placemat. Iron the seams.  Then pin the gap closed, you’ll have to tuck the edges inside.  Then sew a decorative stitch around the placemat to keep everything in it’s place.  We chose a zigzag stitch.

Placemats

Once Valentine’s Day is over, all I have to do is flip the placemats over and I’m ready for St. Patrick’s Day.  The cost of all 6 placemats was only $6! So, if you break it down, it’s only $0.50 per design!  And it’ll only be 1 set of placemats to store once the 2 holidays are over (which will make John happy 🙂 ). 

If you want to see some more about this placemaking experience, my mom blogged about it also.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

ok seriously… I don’t know what is cuter in your BU– placemats or that your mom has a blog too! Your placemats are uber cute (I love the pictures!) You must find me cupcake fabric! Man, now I want a sewing machine… haha.

Comment by CB

Very cute Nina!

Comment by KRMWV

I LOVE the placemats! They are so cute and I want to make my own now too. I wonder if I’ll have any time…but worth a shot. 🙂

Comment by Michele

Nina — I LOVE the placemats! I would love to make my own too…now, I only have to find the time. 🙂

Comment by Michele




Leave a Reply

