The Wiivers


Italian Stuffed Chicken Breasts, yumm
January 4, 2008, 9:44 am
Filed under: Entrees, Healthy Foods

Who new eating healthy could taste this good?  🙂  One of my friends, KT, told me that I had to try this dish.  She said that her hubby and her loved it. 

One Tiny Pink Kitchen has a bunch of healthy WW (Weight Watchers) recipes on her blog.  I have printed off several to use in the near future.  Here is her blog about this meal (whoa, I think I just figured out how to do links, yay!).  I served the chicken with baked potatoes and a big salad.

Here is a picture from my kitchen.

Italian Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Here is the recipe taken directly from the link above:

Italian Stuffed Chicken Breasts
(source: Kara @ WW)

4 – 4 oz. Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts

1/8 tsp. Salt

3/4 tsp. Dried Basil – divided – I used about 2 tsp total

1/4 tsp. Crushed Red Pepper

1/4 cup Minced Green Bell Pepper – I omitted

4 (3/4 oz) Part-Skim Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

2 Tbsp. Fat-Free Italian Dressing

1/8 tsp. Paprika – I used 1 tsp

1/4 cup Dry Breadcrumbs

1 tsp fresh ground pepper

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp oregeno

Cooking Spray

Pound chicken to 1/4” thickness; sprinkle with salt, 1/4 tsp basil (I didn’t really measure) and crushed red pepper, and garlic powder. Sprinkle each breast with 1 Tbsp. minced bell pepper. Place 1 cheese stick lengthwise down the center; roll up jelly roll fashion. Brush rolls evenly with Italian dressing. Combine paprika and breadcrumbs, and a dash of oregeno and basil; dredge chicken breasts rolls in mixture, turn to coat. Place on a baking sheet coated with non-stick cooking spray – seam side down. Lightly coat with non-stick spray; sprinkle with remaining basil. Bake at 400 for 15 minutes or until done (mine took about 22 minutes). Let stand 5 minutes before serving.

4 servings = 5 POINTS each

So, being the cook that I am, I really didn’t follow this recipe per say.  I didn’t have basil or oregeno so I just used italian seasoning.  I didn’t have garlic powder, so I used garlic salt.  I don’t like bell pepper chucks or crushed red pepper, so I left them out completely.  Let me know what you think if you try it!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

looks really yummy, kind of like Italian chicken cordon bleu

Comment by Rhonda in OK

I am drooling. Will have to add this to my recipe blog! YUMMERS! 🙂

Comment by cuppycakes

It looks delicious!

Comment by Deborah

Looks good!

Comment by the Old Lady Next Door

Those look really good! I’m sure it was delicious too.

Comment by Suzana




Leave a Reply

