The Wiivers


Christmas Candy
December 19, 2007, 10:45 am
Filed under: Candy, Dessert, Holidays

On Monday night I was in the mood to make Christmas candy.  I haven’t really made candy before, but I had a couple of good recipes so I figured I should give it a try. 

First up: Turtles!

My Granny has always made Christmas candy.  One of the things I always eat tons of are her turtles.  I remembered her vaguely telling me how to make them a couple of years ago, so I put my memory to the test.  Here are my very detailed instuctions, lol.

  1. Place pecans on waxed paper in groups of three.
  2. Put a dollop of melted carmel in the middle of each pecan group, let cool.
  3. Put a dollop of melted chocolate on top of the caramel, let cool.
  4. Eat and enjoy.

Turtle turtle

Next up: Stained Glass Hard Candy!

April (http://wineloverscookingdiary.blogspot.com/2007/12/hard-candy.html) tried this recipe this weekend, so I thought I’d give it a try.

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

3 3/4 cups white sugar
1 1/2 cups light corn syrup
1 cup water
1 tablespoon orange, or other flavored extract (I used strawberry for this particular batch)
1/2 teaspoon food coloring (optional)
1/4 cup confectioners’ sugar for dusting

Directions
In a medium saucepan, stir together the white sugar, corn syrup, and water. Cook, stirring, over medium heat until sugar dissolves, then bring to a boil. Without stirring, heat to 300 to 310 degrees F (149 to 154 degrees C), or until a small amount of syrup dropped into cold water forms hard, brittle threads.

Remove from heat and stir in flavored extract and food coloring, if desired. Pour onto a greased cookie sheet, and dust the top with confectioners’ sugar. Let cool, and break into pieces. Store in an airtight container.

Some Nikki tips – do not add the flavoring until the bubbles have gone down in the boiling mixture. Also, if you get some of the mixture in your pan and it gets hard before you clean it, run really cold water over it to make it crack and it will come off. I had to actually pick at mine with a butter knife to get some of it off, but it’s not so bad.

I also made Strawberry flavored, I’m going to make cinnamon and some other flavors, but I have to get some more cornsyrup first.  Here are a couple of pictures.

After it cooled and I flipped it ontop my counter, so pretty!

Big Chunk

All broken up and ready to eat.

Ready to eat

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yum-o! I really want a turtle!
they look even better than Granny’s too!

Comment by Rhonda in OK

Awesome! I’m glad that it turned out for you : )

Comment by April




Leave a Reply

